Texas Forts

If you travel around the state enough, you’ll notice a string of long deserted frontier forts.  After my little trip yesterday to Ft. Richardson, I realized that I’ve now been to the forts on either end of the Texas frontier.

On the southern end is Ft. Davis.

And on the northern end is the aforementioned Ft. Richardson.

Looks like I’ve got some road trips coming up as several of the forts are within an easy drive of DFW.

~ by Derrick Birdsall on February 28, 2010.

2 Responses to “Texas Forts”

  1. I like both of these. The one on the bottom is especially nice. The nearest tree is quite interesting and worth accentuating. I imagine when you print this you might have already done something in Photoshop to differentiate the tree a little more from the fort building. Maybe it blends with the building only that way on the web.

  2. Thanks David, we must have been thinking the same thing, I have another image from that set where I did just what you suggest. I’ll dig it up and post it.

Leave a Reply

 
