Officer’s Quarters

Went for a bike ride today up at Fort Richardson State Park and afterward I walked around a bit with the camera.

This image just goes to show you that it’s all about timing.ย  The light that I shot here existed for all of about 30 seconds and I just happened to be in the right spot at the right time – and following rule #1 – I had my camera with me.

Officer's Quarters

~ by Derrick Birdsall on March 27, 2010.

11 Responses to “Officer’s Quarters”

  1. Wow – you have been busy!!! You got some great shots here – the composition is lovely! I love how you caught that shadow there too, fantastic!

  2. FREAKIN AWESOME Derrick!!! This one is stunning man.

  3. Thanks guys! Right place/right time works every time it’s tried! ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Derrick, I love the way that hand comes up from the ground and just holds the house. Nice light too!

  5. Thanks Steve! I too liked how the trees framed the house just right!

  6. Derrick,
    Wonderful shot!!! There’s so much to like about this photo. The shadow in the foreground plays nicely. You did a wonderful job of placement with trees and house! The clouds are awesome with their brooding power and yet there’s a touch of white with hints of bright blue poking in there (not sure how you managed to get them to cooperate ๐Ÿ˜‰ ). I like the fact that there are a few branches hanging into the top of the photo. I also like that you captured natures hand (top branch on the left tree) reaching up to test the sky. One thing that is a bit odd to me (but I actually like the effect) is that the shadows from different trees don’t seem to align. The two main trees in the foreground have shadows pointing (from a picture perspective) NW while the shadow(s) from the tree(s) you’re under seem to be point more North. I’m guessing that the thicker shadow to the bottom left of the photo is for the branch that encroaches at the top of the photo so I suppose nature got it right. ๐Ÿ™‚

    You forgot that along with having a camera, you have to have an eye to spot a good shot…

    Thanks for sharing!

    Peace,

    Stephen

    • Wow, thanks Stephen!! I’m glad you liked it! ๐Ÿ™‚ The Park has a photo contest coming up, I think I will submit this one.

  7. Derrick,
    You absolutely should enter this photo… and then tell us the results. ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. Hi Stephen – as a matter of fact, I’m going to be taking it to them this weekend! It’s due on Saturday and I’ll be dropping it off.

    I’ll let you know how it goes!

Leave a Reply

 
