Painting with light

Took a trip back to Caprock Canyon yesterday, will probably be my last chance to get out there before it gets too hot to enjoy.   One of my goals of the trip was to work on my light painting skills, which necessitated sitting out on a low ridge in the absolute howling wind.   I was glad that I brought a fleece vest and an outer shell.  As it was, it was plenty cold enough with temps in the 50s until I was able to get back down in the canyon and out of the wind.

I wasn’t happy with attempt #1.  The light I was using was too yellow, and I don’t really like how this one turned out, but I’m sharing it with ya’ll so that perhaps you can learn from my mistakes!

Yellow light

I could tell in the view screen of the camera that I didn’t like the color, so on my next stop, I switched tactics and I think the results were a LOT better.

Blue light

The tint of the blue light comes off a lot nicer I think, and it didn’t blow out the colors like the yellow light in the first picture.   On the 2nd picture, exposure time was 10 sec, 100 iso and using my 11×16 Tokina at 2.8.  I was able to get some more shots which I’ll be putting up in the next few days!

~ by Derrick Birdsall on April 25, 2010.

4 Responses to “Painting with light”

  1. Hello, I have just stumbled across your blog via alpha inventions. You have some great images on here, particularly the light painting. Very cool indeed. I also have a wordpress blog for photography. Check it out sometime. Where are you located. Cheers Adrian
    http://www.wayte27.wordpress.com

  2. Hey Adrian, what a fantastic blog you have! I can see I’m going to spend a lot of time there looking around. I’ve added you to my blogroll and will be a frequent visitor!

    Thanks so much for stopping by my little spot on the internets.

    I’m located in the DFW metroplex and the vast bulk of my photography takes place in Texas.

  3. Hey Derek, I will add you also to my links/blogroll, expect a few hits form some fellow wordpress photogs in Perth W.A There is a rather large following in Perth. You may be interested in a guy call Brent Pearson, he does a heap of light painting http://brentbat.wordpress.com/.
    Thanks for stopping by cheers Adrian

  4. Fantastic!! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

 
