Award winner….

In an earlier post, I mentioned that I had submitted this photo in a photo contest at Ft. Richardson State Park. Got word today that the image was good enough to take 2nd place….

Ft. Richardson

The fellow on the phone said there was quite a debate as to whether or not I waited for the light or just got lucky….  I just got lucky!   I had just finished a bike ride and grabbed the camera to get some shots of the officer’s quarters there in the background, but from another spot.

I noticed that the light was awesome with the clouds and that the sun was getting ready to duck in behind another set, at which point I hustled over to this spot and took a short series of pics, this one turning out the nicest, I think.

~ by Derrick Birdsall on May 13, 2010.

13 Responses to “Award winner….”

  1. Congratulations. Your image deserved the recognition. My dad was always amazed that people thought he must have waited for hours for some of his photographs. Once you’ve been out there photographing you realize how impossible that would be because once you wait for what you think will happen, conditions change to something you could never have predicted, which might be more interesting or much less interesting photographically. In my experience, usually I am hurrying to capture what I have seen, before it goes away. The very best photographs often go away quickly. Often the light peaks for only a few minutes at most, a window not easily anticipated even in familiar territory.

  2. Thank you very much, David!

    Isn’t that true?? I think the light for this shot was there for all of about 2 minutes. Tops.

    It makes me crazy to think that there are legions upon legions of photographers out there who apparently live to try and capture the same images of Ansel Adams. The light, clouds and scenery are never the same.

    I have a lot more respect for, and enjoy the images a lot more – of those folks willing to go out and find their own light.

  3. You’ve certainly captured some very nice drama in the sky here… Have to love a moody sky…

  4. Makes for good images for sure. 😉

  5. It’s beautiful! Congratulations!

  6. Hey Derrick awesome image, those clouds are sensational as well as the lighting coming from over your shoulder. Great work and congrats, Cheers Adrian

  7. Thanks much folks! Even looking at the viewfinder I knew it was going to be a keeper. 🙂

  8. Congrats !!!! One of my favorite pictures 🙂

  9. Simply stunning!

  10. Thank you ladies!

  11. The contrast of the white house to the dark clouds in the background makes the pic worthwhile…..congrats!!

  12. […] Concho, along with Ft. Richardson (which I have written about here) is unique in that most of the other Texas Forts I’ve been to so far are more or less in the […]

Leave a Reply

 
