Contrasts

Leaving work today, I noticed that there were some nice clouds building up to the west, catching the fading light from the sun.  I really thought the contrast of the man made overpass with the natural beauty of the clouds was neat, so I pulled out the camera and snapped a few shots, experimenting with how much of the overpass to include….

Dallas sunset

~ by Derrick Birdsall on May 18, 2010.

4 Responses to “Contrasts”

  1. Derrick, I must say your work has come a long way since I first started visiting here. Besides enthusiasm and natural tendency, you seem to well-embody the old maxim that recommends learning from everyone. I have learned from your great attitude. This photograph is outstanding in my opinion. I love the two angles of the roadways. I am very curious now to see what the other photographs look like that have varying amounts of the roadways showing.

  2. Thank you very much, David!

    I’m whipped right now, just getting home – but I will post up some of the other images soon.

  3. Looks to me like you included just the right amount of overpass — more would have been too heavy in the corner of the photo, less wouldn’t have been effective. Good intuition. Great little abstract.

  4. Thank you PJ. It was a snap shot, more or less; taken while I was waiting on a red light. No time to visualize!

Leave a Reply

 
