Red and blue

Once I got settled in after the storm at Caprock Canyon, I left camp and headed out to a location I had scouted out earlier to do some light painting.  As I’m learning, most of photography is trial and error; so I had planned to do some experimenting with different color lights to see what kind of effect they would have on the subject matter.

For that night’s work, I focused on a neat outcropping of rock and experimented with white, red, green and blue light; in addition to exposure time.

From the tests I did, the red rock really soaked up the red light and the best exposure time was between 8 and 15 seconds.  It’s still very much a work in progress, but I’m learning.

8 seconds

15 seconds

One of the tricks is in how long to leave the light on the rocks – too much and it was just a blob of red; the 2nd pic is bordering on that – and too little and you got a whole lot of nothing.

~ by Derrick Birdsall on May 24, 2010.

3 Responses to “Red and blue”

  1. Very cool !!

  2. Very cool indeed! The second shot is fantastic – perfect exposure and comp.

  3. Thanks ladies! I was standing on a ledge, rather precariously balanced 30-40 feet above the ground for those shots, getting pushed around by the wind. TONS of fun!

Leave a Reply

 
