One year and counting

Well, I checked the receipt for my Canon 50D and I purchased it from my friends at Arlington Camera on August 3, 2009.

Several thousand images later (I’m guessing it’s in the 50K range), I’ve moved my blog from the original site at blogger to WordPress (a much nicer setup, frankly, and I’m glad I’ve made the switch to WP) and pulled in nearly 14K hits on this blog.

I’d like to think I’ve learned a little bit and improved my technique in the last year!  I know I’ve “met” some great photogs online and seen a lot of great photography.   I bought what I’ll call my first “real” camera – a Canon G10 in the fall of 2008.   My first DSLR, a Canon Rebel XS in March (I believe) of 2009 and then moved up to the “prosumer” 50D in August of last year.  I now use the 50D as a backup/2nd camera to my new 7D.   I have the 2 lenses that came with each DSLR body (an 18×200 and an 18×135) a 70-200 2.8/f and an 11×16 2.8/f – and I’m pretty much set.  One tripod (which I’m probably going to supplement with a lighter one to carry in the field) and a monopod I use on my hikes.  Equipment wise, I’ve got all I need I believe and now I just need to continue to refine my craft.

I’ve been thinking of just where I want to take this hobby of mine… and I have some rough concepts I’ll be sharing in the weeks and months to come but rest assured, I’m hooked and looking forward to getting more quality images for us all to enjoy together.

So sit back and enjoy the ride, it’s gonna be fun.

~ by Derrick Birdsall on August 2, 2010.

2 Responses to “One year and counting”

  1. Congrats Derrick! Looking forward to what the future brings for you!

Leave a Reply

 
