The hills have eyes…

I was out running some tests with my new 7D as I was having some fairly serious autofocus issues.  To make sure it wasn’t user error, I needed to set up with a tripod, get somewhere that had some depth and trip the shutter automatically.

Keeping in mind lesson number 7 in my book of taking great images, I turned around from what I was originally shooting and looked behind me.  I was rewarded with some great light and intriguing shapes (to me, anyway) so I moved the tripod and set up shop.

eyes

I guess I’m becoming influenced by the famous (or infamous in some circles) Ken Rockwell.   One of Ken’s points is that the subject matter doesn’t matter, lighting and composition do.  And I couldn’t agree more.

As for the 7D, it’s been sent back to Canon as the autofocus issues I was experiencing do not appear to be caused by user error.  Hopefully I’ll get it back and everything will get squared away.

~ by Derrick Birdsall on August 19, 2010.

4 Responses to “The hills have eyes…”

  1. I like this kind of photography: Grabbing the unexpected beauty where you find it.

    • Hey David – thanks for stopping by!! I have to remember to not have expectations about what I’m shooting – sometimes you get somewhere planning to shoot one thing only to find out that something just as cool is at your feet.

  2. Like looking through a GIANT set of binoculars!

    Hope your 7D comes back good as mew!

Leave a Reply

 
