Predator and Prey

A week or so ago at work, I was sitting on the phone talking with someone about one thing or another when I caught something hitting my door’s window out of the corner of my eye.

All I could think of was that it looked like a small bird, except it was all balled up, hitting the window.

I went back to my conversation and within a few minutes, I caught sight of a decent sized raptor jumping off the roof over the door onto the ground.

And I just KNEW what had happened.  A hawk had hit a dove in midflight, and then the dove had plummeted into my window, explaining its balled up state.  Once the hawk knew it was safe, it was getting ready to reap the rewards of a successful hunt.

I crept up to the window, camera in hand and was very surprised to see the hawk literally a few feet outside my door.

scopin' it out

proud hunter

dinner time

~ by Derrick Birdsall on September 13, 2010.

2 Responses to “Predator and Prey”

  1. Cool and creepy at the same time. Amazing birds hawks are. I just wish they’d keep their killing acts out of my sight! 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
