Big Bend morning

Contrary to my sunset experience from the previous day – where the golden hour seemed to last for days rather than seconds – morning light proved to be a different beast.

I remembered from a few years back, camping off of the Old Ore Road that the Basin has a brief, but fiery red color shortly after the sun comes up.

That being said, I got into position on a place that looked like it had some potential and waited – but only for a moment as the Basin soon lit up as I had remembered.

 

Fire in the morning

Unlike the setting sun, which gave me about an hour and a half or so to set up at different locations, this glorious color lasted all of about 2 minutes, as timed by my watch.

 

 

~ by Derrick Birdsall on December 6, 2010.

6 Responses to “Big Bend morning”

  1. Good capture even if nature didn’t give you long to work with.

    • I was just glad to be in place and set up in time! Lesson learned for next time, I will make damn sure I’m set up well in advance!

      And thanks for stopping by!

  2. Gorgeous shot, Derrick. This is a real beauty.

    Sharon

    • Thank you, Sharon – I’m doing a bit of a PJ here…. in that I’m kicking myself for not shooting with a smaller aperture. The foreground is plenty crisp but blown up the background I am not happy with 100%. I’m chalking it up to being in a hurry with the light and will get it 100% next time!!

  3. What I hate is when I set up for a great sunrise or sunset shot and then pack it up thinking the magic is over…it’s always then that the light does incredible things. I have to be more patient!

Leave a Reply

 
