Adios to 2010

In many ways, 2010 was a start.  I started taking my photography seriously and started to really focus on learning my craft.  As the year started, I began working on the WordPress version of this blog, after a brief experiment with the blogger version.

It’s been a good year here in my little corner of the web.  I’ve had over 22,000 visits to the blog and made some very nice online friends.  From halfway around the world, Auzzie photographer Adrian Wayte never fails to impress me with images from an unusual (to this Texas boy!) world.  Eric Leslie, like me, is a relative newcomer to the photography world but his images are timeless already. David Hyde is carrying on his father’s (Philip Hyde) legacy and work in the digital age.  Tracy started her blog as a 365 project, and thankfully continues to share her wonderful and inspiring images even after the project was “over”.   Sharon Van Lieu and her husband Dirck photograph primarily in and around Nantucket Island – another strange place to this Texas boy – but their images never fail to impress.  Paul Johnson’s (PJ Finn) ramblings, thoughts and images are always thought provoking and well worth a visit.  Finally, fellow Texan Jeff Lynch’s images of the Hill Country, and lately Canyon Country continue to inspire and motivate me to get out there and capture the beauty that is Texas.   There are several other blogs that I visit weekly for inspiration and information, but these folks listed above have helped me to, at the very least, start a conversation and get the ball rolling on some projects.  Thanks to everyone for helping me get my feet under me and start walking.

Speaking of projects, 2010 started with a visit to historic Ft. Richardson – the northernmost frontier fort on a line of forts that extended all the way down to Big Bend Country in the mid to late 19th century.

 

Ft. Richardson

 

By the time it was all said and done, I visited each of the Texas frontier forts in 2010- and was left with a body of work that I now need to put together in book form.

I also spent quite a bit of time exploring Caprock Canyon State Park.

 

Self Portrait at Caprock

 

It’s a wonderful Texas treasure and I know I’ll have many more visits as 2011 turns over.

2010 also saw one trip down to Big Bend Country, visiting Davis Mts. State Park, Ft.Davis itself, and both Big Bend Ranch State Park and Big Bend National Park.  I was able to meet the wonderful Beth Nobles, who works for the Texas Historical Commission’s Texas Mountain Trail on that trip and look forward to visiting with Beth again in the near future.

 

Big Bend

 

I finished up the year taking on online class with landscape master William Neill, and coming up with a nice image or two for the class.

 

Isle du Bois

 

I managed to win a couple of contests in 2010 as well:

 

Lux award winner

Award winner

 

I’ve set some big plans and goals for 2011 – more visits to Big Bend Country and Caprock, publishing a coffee table book on the Texas frontier forts and more.

For all those folks who have stopped by and viewed my work thank you.  For those that have not just viewed, but left comments, voted, and started conversations – I really appreciate your time!

Stick around, 2011 is going to be a helluva ride.

~ by Derrick Birdsall on January 1, 2011.

10 Responses to “Adios to 2010”

  1. Good pics!

  2. Well, if 2010 was a start for you, you sure got off to a good one. Keep up the good work — sounds like you have several more interesting and worthwhile projects lined up. I look forward to seeing the results. Thanks for the kind words.

  3. WOW – what a wonderful wrap-up, Derrick! I guess I completely forgot that you only started this journey in 2010 – you’ve come a long way, baby!

    Let’s raise a glass and toast to what awesome things will come in 2011! Cheers! 🙂

  4. I’m so glad to have found your blog this year, Derrick. Your recent Big Bend trip has been incredible. Excellent work and I like your photographic style.

    Sharon

    • That’s quite a compliment, thank you very much. I tried to string reporting on this trip out long enough until I leave for the next one but still have a few weeks to go. 😉

Leave a Reply

 
