Big wheel keeps on turnin’…

It wasn’t long after I returned home from an epic Big Bend trip that I had to turn around and leave town for a work related business trip to Cincinnati, Ohio.

No trip to Cincinnati would be complete without getting a shot or two of a riverboat churning down the Ohio River.

As you can see in this image from the Library of Congress, the riverboat trade was a flourishing one for quite some time in the 19th and into the 20th century.

historic

I was quite fortunate – I had only a limited time to photograph outside and while I was sitting on an overlook checking the view out, this steamboat churned into view.  I took the liberty of turning my modern image into an old fashioned one.  I hope you don’t mind.

rollin' along

After taking in the magnificent views of the Ohio River, I headed indoors to the Krohn Conservatory where my camera immediately fogged up thanks to a fairly cool day outside and hot and humid inside conditions.

I was able to hand hold this shot at about 1/10th which gave the water a nice blurred effect while still allowing the image to be fairly sharp overall.

Runnin'

I finished up my little jaunt by stopping at this old reservoir, wishing I had more time to stay and explore!

Still water

All in all, a fantastic trip to Cincinnati; someplace I’d be more than happy to visit again.

~ by Derrick Birdsall on January 4, 2011.

8 Responses to “Big wheel keeps on turnin’…”

  1. Three very distinctly different photos! Good to see something a little different from you. I knew you had it in you! 🙂

  2. There’s a lot to see in my home state of Ohio. I hope to head up there for a day or two in the coming months to take some pictures myself.

  3. Great shots, Derrick! I spent many a day in Cincinnati – but that was a lifetime ago it seems! Love the water shot!

  4. The “waterfall” is gorgeous. I wonder if it would stay sharp enough to blow up large successfully. Maybe it needs a bit more blurring…

Leave a Reply

 
