Canyonland reds

As I was heading back to the car after shooting one location at Caprock Canyon, I had pretty much given up on the light hitting the top of the canyon walls.  Luckily, I had my head on a swivel heading back out and noticed some great light a little ways down the trail.  It was well worth the effort to hop off the bike, take the backpack off and get set up to shoot this location.

 

Reds

Reds II

 

Since the weather had turned a bit cold when I was there, I had the canyon pretty much to myself.  It’s those moments that make a 4 hour drive each way worth it!

~ by Derrick Birdsall on January 11, 2011.

6 Responses to “Canyonland reds”

  1. Beautiful shots, Derrick. Love the deep red from the late light.

    Sharon

    • Thanks Sharon, it was nice enough for me to stick around and take pics … knowing I would be riding back in the dark. I love those reds!

  2. These are very nice. I might try to get closer to those gorgeous cliffs or switch lenses and keep a bit less of the foreground.

    • David, thank you. I think you are right about getting more of the wall itself. This trip turned out to be one more learning experience! I thought I could get closer to the wall itself except once I got on site I discovered there was a nice little cutoff with pretty steep sides between me and the canyon wall… live and learn and I’ve filed that away for the next time I go out.

  3. Great pictures! This place is amazing!

Leave a Reply

 
