Snow day

A week or so ago, we had our first taste of snow this winter.  After lazing around all day and trying to avoid the inevitable idiots driving around, I decided that I better get out and snap some pics.

Luckily, there were some nice trails relatively close where I ride my mountain bike.

 

wet

 

It had snowed 3″ or so, and some of it had started to puddle up as the day warmed up a touch.

I hiked over to what’s known as PacMan hill to the local riders, hoping to catch some decent light as the sun fell.  I was skunked by the light, but still found a few scenes to capture; they seemed to be fitting of a b/w treatment and I shot them in the camera that way.

 

Hey!

bobbed ware

 

As an extra treat, no sooner had I settled in to shoot the hay field than a few city coyotes started up yelping and howling.  Quite unexpected but very nice nonetheless.

~ by Derrick Birdsall on January 24, 2011.

4 Responses to “Snow day”

  1. A little snow is pretty…alot of snow is annoying! Lucky for you, you only have a little snow and we are expecting a foot more on Wednesday…sigh.

  2. I like the sepia tones, Derrick. Very nice work. (send us some snow, please)

    Sharon

Leave a Reply

 
