Mornin’

The clouds and rain from the previous night blew away by 2 or 3 the next morning.  I knew that because I was reminded why I hate staying in the main campgrounds by a truck load of obnoxious campers arriving in their campsite somewhere around that time…..

Undaunted by the weather or our unruly neighbors, I was up and out at 5:30 in the AM (that’s Oh-dark-hundred) so I could make it out of the Basin, down the mountain without killing myself, and get into position for good morning light.  I might have accidentally hosed the rude campers’ tents with the high beams on the way out, but it was purely accidental if it even happened at all.

Nevertheless, I thought my hard work was rewarded with some extremely colorful morning light as the sun and moon came up.

lifesaver roll

moonrise ocotillo

~ by Derrick Birdsall on February 8, 2011.

15 Responses to “Mornin’”

  1. A lovely layering of light and color. 😉

  2. Good stuff Derrick. Well worth dragging yourself out at oh-dark-hundred for…

  3. Hehehe…you are funny Derrick! Well worth getting up early for! Those colors are incredible! (but, don’t look for me to be joining you at oh-dark-hundred…;-) )

  4. Amazing shots. The vegetation seems to be Brazillian.

  5. Oh goodness. So much to love. Never mind that I’m a sucker for silhouettes and color in general really excites me. We have the best of both here. You determination paid off. Getting up at Oh-Dark-Hundred yielded some great shots.

    • Thanks! It’s easy to wake up early in the Big Bend. Can’t do it to save my life at home, but I know it’s worth the effort out in the desert. 😉

  6. Oh, and I love your WordPress theme. It’s the same one I use. 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
