Now you see ’em…. now you don’t

As a lifelong hunter and outdoorsman, I have always been impressed, bewildered and mystified the way Texas deer can literally appear straight out of thin air and then disappear after you blink or look away for a moment.

After my pals and I left Big Bend National Park, we headed down FM 170 (the paved river road) towards Big Bend Ranch State Park.  With the massive cold front moving in, it was no surprise to see the critters moving around as the temperatures dropped and we spotted this nice little brood of mule deer right off the main park road at the Ranch.  Keep in mind, the main park road is more than 27 miles of dirt road – just to get to the main station at Sauceda.

desert ghosts

Here’s your question of the day…. how many deer do you see in this image?

~ by Derrick Birdsall on March 4, 2011.

10 Responses to “Now you see ’em…. now you don’t”

  1. Hey Derrick I love this Im a sucker for wildlife particularly ones I dont see every day. Sure beats looking at rabbits and kangaroo’s !!

    If my eyes serve me well I see 3 !
    Cheers Adrian

  2. I do love pictures of the great outdoors. I have been to Texas only once. San Antonio. We saw the Alamo and experienced the river walk at Christmas time. I would love to go back and see wild part of Texas.

    http://timkeen40.wordpress.com

    • Hi Tim – thanks much for stopping by! San Antonio is GREAT, but there’s so much more to Texas. If you decide to come back and visit the wild part, make sure to let me know as I can surely point you in the right direction.

  3. Beautiful shot, Derrick. What a gorgeous animal.

    Sharon

  4. Wow – what a sight! I believe there are 4 deer in this shot!

    Now, Mr. Huntsman…isn’t it much nicer to shoot these beauties with a lens, hmmmm?

Leave a Reply

 
