Trail head

For those folks who have never had the good fortune to navigate through the desert – the pile of stones on the right side of this image are called rock cairns.  Cairns are often used to mark trails in the desert and boy, let me tell you – this cairn led to one of the absolutely coolest things I’ve ever seen in the desert.

With the snow blowing in the background, and a little bit of it on the ground up close to the camera, I hope that the image properly conveys just how cold and exposed this spot was!  But it was worth it – and I’m already counting the days until I can return.

trail head

~ by Derrick Birdsall on March 14, 2011.

6 Responses to “Trail head”

  1. It looks like such a beautiful area. Great capture. 🙂

  2. Wow, that’s a great near-far image. I love the silhouette of the ghostly butte in the distance balanced by the cairn in the foreground. Beautiful composition.

    • That was one my eyes saw before I saw it, David. Took the picture and then the far/near balance hit me. I really appreciate you stopping by and sharing some great insight! Even when I know you’re just jokin’ around. 😉

  3. Very cool shot!
    And some impressive dedication (my camera tends to stay indoors until it’s a bit warmer outside)! 🙂

    • Thanks! We were kinda stuck out there with all of the roads shut down between there and home – but I think we made the most of it!!! Not that I was going to head home anyway…..

Leave a Reply

 
