Over the river and through the woods…

Here’s what I’ve been holding back from ya’ll!

 

all laid out for ya

 

I have uploaded this image a bit larger than I usually do so that when you open this one up by clicking on it, you can get a good grasp of just what you’re looking at.

On the roof of the cave there is the most amazing series of pictographs I’ve ever seen – and as it was described to me by the Park Superintendent – he believes it’s a map.

The images wrap around the ceiling of the cave in an almost orderly fashion.  Start at the “house” in the upper left hand corner and the map will take you  on a wonderful trip across the desert!  Now if only we could get someone to come decipher this little mystery for us it would be cool!

More to come, I snapped a bunch of images inside the cave and will of course be sharing them with you, dear reader, soon.

But for starters, click on this one and take a trip through time!

~ by Derrick Birdsall on March 21, 2011.

6 Responses to “Over the river and through the woods…”

  1. This is very interesting…
    I’ve never been fortunate enough to come across any pictographs, but there’s still time, right?!
    Thanks for sharing this one, Mr. B! 🙂

    • I’ll have detail shots of each of the individual pictographs – this was a totally cool find, as far as I’m concerned. Plenty of time indeed!

  2. Such a marvelous find! I’ve never seen anything like that other than in photos.

    • Hi Robin – it was VERY cool, and it made a coupla hour hike in some very cold conditions well worth the effort. I hope my images do this fantastic site some justice!

  3. The idea of a map is so intriguing. It must have been important to have a clear idea of the journey ahead.

    Sharon

Leave a Reply

 
