Caprock clouds

After a very comical (now, anyway) experience at Caprock Canyon, I was able to take a photo that I think turned out alright.

Even though it was maddeningly frustrating  I was able to pull some decent lessons together.

Notably, I had a massive lack of attention to detail.

For starters, I had planned to hike out about a mile and a half or so, climb up to the top of the ridge and then do some light painting.  Keeping an eye to the sky, clouds started rolling in of course, which would defeat the whole purpose of light painting an object and capturing the heavens behind it.  I changed plans to move to another location and set about getting ready to eat dinner.  While I had packed in my stove, water, spoon and gas… I left the damn food in the truck.  Argh.  No big deal, as I had two power bars in the bag and wouldn’t go hungry.

I then started setting up the tripod and attaching the camera…. Except that’s rather hard to do when you don’t have the little gizmo that attaches the camera to the tripod.

I started reluctantly heading back to the truck and in between cursing myself and questioning my own sanity, I saw some fantastic clouds and talked myself into taking the camera out and snapping a pic or two.

lemonade

My main issue is that I have several backpacks for hauling around my gear.  It all works just fine when you are using one or the other… but swapping equipment back and forth from one to another is going to require some more cognitive ability on my part!

When I got back to camp, the comedy continued.  I had set up my tent before I left on the hike and when I went to put my new cot inside I discovered it didn’t fit… and my air mattress that has served me well for 10 years decided that night was the night to quit holding air.  I threw everything back into the truck and headed back for the house….  Oh well!

~ by Derrick Birdsall on May 3, 2011.

10 Responses to “Caprock clouds”

  1. I have days like that. Frequently. TOO frequently.
    This is a wonderful shot, though, sir – the clouds almost look like they’ve been ‘swept’ across the sky – very cool! 🙂

  2. I’m sorry, but I had to laugh reading this. 🙂

    Sharon

    • LOL! That’s OK, I’m laughing now too!! However, I was definitely having a rated R conversation with myself on the way back to the truck. 😉

  3. Well, other than that how was the trip?

  4. Many who have been camping can probably relate to this post, Derrick. It is certainly funny after the fact, but not at the time so much, except part of the comedy for me in these situations is noticing how mad and profane I get. It becomes a bit ridiculous. Hats off to you that you can laugh at yourself. Those clouds are beautiful, but isn’t your image a bit soft? Ha, I’m kidding you, he he.

    • Actually… I think it probably IS a tad soft! I was hand holding at 1/30th… As I was not able to use the tripod. 😉 I almost didn’t publish it!

  5. Sometimes you’re the windshield, sometimes you’re the bug. 😉

    At least you managed to come away from the situation with humor. The ability to laugh at oneself is priceless. You WILL be prepared next time!

    (Good luck with tomorrow’s MRI…)

Leave a Reply

 
