Standing guard

After a few attempts, Wyman figured out how he wanted to get the building lit up to where we all liked it….

All lit up

I’m not 100% happy with this shot… if I crank the highlights up, the heavens look awesome, but the structure gets blown out.  If I keep the light on the structure stable, then you can’t see the stars….  Anyone have any advice on how to rectify this situation in Lightroom?

~ by Derrick Birdsall on May 10, 2011.

9 Responses to “Standing guard”

  1. Unfortunetly I’ve never used lightroom – but (if it’s similar to Photoshop) you could mask off a adjustment layer(s) so they are applied independently to the structure and/or sky.
    I think it’s pretty sweet looking already, though…
    🙂

  2. Wow… I think I was asleep when I wrote that. Can we just pretend there are no typos and/or grammar issues?

  3. I’m with SIG. Not a Lightroom user but in PS, I would first play with the shadow/highlight slider which I’ve had lots of luck with. If that didn’t do the trick, then I’d create seperate layers, mask off the building and create the sky I desire.

  4. I like it as it is. I’m a PS user, too, so can’t help you with LR.

  5. I use photoshop also Derrick and not lightroom. I use Tony Kuyper’s luminosity masks for this type of work. This should be doable and would be worth the effort.

    Sharon

Leave a Reply

 
