THANK YOU!

WOW!  At some point over the last day, my little spot on the blogosphere hit 30,000 hits.  My first post here was in December 2009 – so in around 18 months or so, I’ve had a ton more visitors than I could have expected!!

It’s thanks to you folks – my dear readers and fellow photo enthusiasts!!  And particularly due to the following folks:

Adrian Wayte – this Aussie wins the award for my farthest away visitor!!!  And he’s a crack photographer as well.

David Hyde – David has taken up the torch for his father, Philip Hyde, and shares his father’s wonderful images as well as some of his own from time to time.  In addition, David shares excerpts from his family’s photography life which are absolutely fantastic reads!!

Lucas Franca – Lucas is another fellow from a loooong way away, down in Brazil.  Stop by his site to see his view on what is a very foreign country to me!

Sharon Van Lieu – Sharon and her husband Dirck share fantastic images from Nantucket Island – another very strange land to this Texas boy!

Inky! – I’ve only recently discovered “Inky’s” work – also known as the Spilled Ink Guy.  Inky specializes in taking modern images and getting them to look much like a 19th or early 20th century image.  As a historian/photographer myself, I am very much drawn to his outstanding work!

PJ – PJ hails from Montana and has recently made a cross-country trek to live with his family in southern California….  he is an outstanding photographer and his ideas are often rather profound and quite thought-provoking.

Robin – is another of my “new” online friends who hails from Ohio – her photography and thoughts are awesome!

Tracy – Tracy is another Yankee photographer who was doing a 365 last year, and has toned things down a bit this year but continues to share absolutely quality work!!

Minh – who can forget Minh!  Minh is an Austin girl working on a 365 project.  Her work is evolving and improving all the time!

Of course, these aren’t the only folks I visit online, and they aren’t the only folks who comment here – but they do comment regularly and I truly appreciate their open and upfront comments, suggestions and discussions.  Stop by and give them a look-see for yourself!  Good people, all of ’em.

To ALL of my subscribers… THANKS!!  I very much appreciate your willingness to be a regular part of this blog as well.

If you’ve been following this blog for any length of time, you may have noticed a little bit of a difference in my posting patterns lately.  I was getting caught up in HAVING to put something out there every Monday thru Friday (and sometimes on weekends!!), and I’m sad to say that I think my “drive” to get my work out there nearly daily caused my overall body of work to suffer.

I was so intent on getting stuff out there that I was publishing images that were ….. iffy….. to use a nice term.  That has stopped!  If it’s an image I’m not 100% proud of and willing to share, I’m not going to push the button!  So, quantity may drop off, but I’d like to think the quality of what I share will increase.

As always, I look forward to sharing more of this world as I see it through the lens of my camera and very much look forward to continuing the discussion with you!

~ by Derrick Birdsall on May 14, 2011.

18 Responses to “THANK YOU!”

  1. Aww, thanks Derrick! I enjoy your photos, too! You’ve definitely inspired me and my work – I just need to get out of the city and away from all the light pollution to really stretch my wings!

  2. Thanks for the mention Derrick. I’ll tell you a little secret — I come here to your blog regularly because I like what I see here. Keep it coming my friend.

  3. Congrats on a very impressive milestone, Mr. B! That’s a LARGE number… I’m pretty sure I don’t have enough fingers and toes to count that high!
    Thank you so much for your kind words, sir – I appreciate that very, very much!
    Please keep up the amazing work, Mr. B – it’s always a lot of fun to stop by and see the sights around here!
    🙂

  4. It’s always a pleasure to read your blog. I consider myself a fellow Texan even if I am in yankeeland now. 🙂 I think posting by a schedule would be tough. I don’t think I could do a 365 project without it ending up being pictures of my cats. 🙂

    I have truly enjoyed conversing with you and seeing your work, Derrick.

    Sharon

    • You can always take the girl out of Texas, but you can’t take Texas out of the girl… or so the saying goes. 😉

      Many thanks for the thoughts and the inspiration!

  5. Congratulations on your milestone! Well done, Derrick. 🙂

    And thank you so much for the mention and link. I enjoy your photography, too.

  6. Aw, thanks for the shout out, Derrick. Most appreciated! It’s isn’t often I get called a ‘Yankee’ so I had to chuckle at that one considering I’m a Red Sox fan…. 😉 (Yeah, yeah, I do know what you meant!)

    Congratulations! Your photos are so very different from mine which is why I stop by. I also feel it is important to support each other. Just to lurk isn’t good enough!

    Keep up the good work! 🙂

    • LOL. Anything north of the Mason Dixon line gets you the Yankee moniker, Miss!! ESPECIALLY if you’re a BoSox fan – Go Rangers!! LOL.

      Thanks much for stopping by, and your thoughts and comments and honest assessments are appreciated.

  7. Well done mate bring on the next 30K I say
    Cheers for the shout out !!

  8. Congratulations on your traffic milestone. Thank you for the mention. Many blessings to you and much more to come. We’re just getting started.

  9. Thank you, Derrick!

Leave a Reply

 
