Red

From time to time, I will enter one of WordPress’ weekly photo challenges – and this week’s challenge was titled “Red”.

I remembered that I had been saving this shot; it was taken on one of my moto rides into the LBJ National Grasslands.  I had discovered an old house, I’m guessing turn of the 20th century or so, based on the architecture, design, and detritus around the place.  That being said, I discovered something from my own childhood in the ’60s and ’70s around back, perched rather nicely right where you see it in this image.

Red

I thought I’d give it a ‘retro’ feel, considering the time that the viewfinder came from – and one of Lightroom’s presets did the job nicely.  You never know what you’ll find when you go poking around an old house… and finding this little gem gave me a nice little flashback to my own mis-spent youth. 😉

~ by Derrick Birdsall on May 17, 2011.

15 Responses to “Red”

  1. Love it. I wore out a few of those viewmasters myself when I was a kid. Yeah, we had ’em back then…

  2. I like the composition of this photo. Thanks for shaking this viewfinder memory.

  3. This is great…a fallen soldier. 🙂 Really cool composition here, Derrick, and the tone is fantastic!

  4. Very cool. I remember having one myself. Got one for the kid years ago.

  5. VIEWMASTER! SWEET! I used to have one with some Muppet Show cards… good times, good times!

    I agree with M.P. – love the retro-feel you’ve created here sir! 🙂

  6. I haven’t seen one of those things in ages!

    Nicely done, Derrick. 🙂

  7. This is so so cool. I love it! Oh, I loved viewmasters.

    Sharon

  8. I sure wish I knew what happened to my old Viewmaster. Brings back memories…

Leave a Reply

 
