Razorback

Earlier this year, I was able to climb aboard the USS Razorback (SS 394) in Little Rock.  I’ve also been aboard the USS Nautilus, which was light years ahead of the Razorback in comfort and room!

The one thought that kept crossing my mind was “tight”.  Being a rather large fella, there were several places I wasn’t sure if I could fit through!  It all worked out, however, and I didn’t have to suffer the embarrassment of getting stuck. 😉  If you’re even remotely claustrophobic, don’t even think of going below-decks.

The Razorback served about a year and a half (including training time) at the end of WWII, stayed in service during the Cold War, and was transferred to the Turkish Navy in 1970.  You can read all about her service here.

I couldn’t even begin to imagine  how you could live in one of these things.  Between the claustrophobic conditions (which don’t bother me) to the VERY close proximity of your ship-mates (which would really bother me), hot-bunking,  the heat, stale air and then of course, the threat of getting crushed if anything went wrong.  It makes you appreciate very much the guys that were able to do it.

Razorback

As someone who spent quite a lot of time watching WWII movies as a kid, I’ve always wanted to see one of these phones in person.  Nice seeing the “Growler” at work!

Took both the image and the video with my little G12, which is really starting to grow on me!

~ by Derrick Birdsall on July 5, 2011.

2 Responses to “Razorback”

  1. I felt the same way touring the USS Constitution. Hard to believe a crew of men could live and work in such tight quarters.

Leave a Reply

 
