Grasslands

At the end of last year, I bought my first motorcycle, with the intent of getting further off the beaten path without tearing up my truck anymore than I already have.  I’ve gradually started to expand my range, all the way out to the LBJ National Grasslands, which are about 50 miles or so from my home in north Texas.

I’ve been out several times now, and the trips are starting to bear some photographic fruit.

homestead

vintage

Considering the approximate age of these structures, I tried to age them a bit, with the goal in mind to mimic the outstanding Library of Congress’ Depression era color photos.

More on the grasslands to come.

~ by Derrick Birdsall on July 11, 2011.

21 Responses to “Grasslands”

  1. These are excellent images, in my opinion, and I like the effects too as they are not overdone, but add to the overall appeal. I would imagine the top one would make an excellent stock photo too.

  2. Outstanding!
    Looks like a very interesting place to visit (and photograph), Mr. B.
    You really have done a great job of processing these as well… I really like the high contrast and warm tones… awesome! 🙂

    • Hey Inky – that’s like the easiest processing thing in the world, Lightroom’s “yesteryear” preset!! 🙂 Thanks much, dude!

  3. Hi Derrick! Amazing pictures, I love this effect!

  4. […] https://mysightpicture.wordpress.com/2011/07/11/grasslands/ […]

  5. Great pictures, Derrick. I like the vintage effect.

  6. These are beautiful! I especially like the second one.

  7. greetings by
    http://flickrcomments.wordpress.com/2011/07/08/weekly-photo-challenge-old-fashioned/

  8. Nicely done. Both of these images have such a ‘heartland’ feel about them. Like stepping back into a different time and place.

    Be careful on that ride! 😉

  9. I like the second one a great deal, Derrick. I think your processing adds a great deal.

    I would like to get something to ride here. Something fast enough to not be a pest but not so big I can’t handle it.

    Sharon

    • Thank you, once again Sharon! I feel like I can’t say that enough when folks like you, PJ and David stop by here with some degree of regularity.

      Some of those new scooters are really pretty cool; for a motorcycle, there’s tons of options out there!! Have hubby help you pick something groovy out!!

  10. Good stuff. Both work well, but the second one especially captures the feel of the depression era photos.

    • Many thanks PJ!! Pictures like this are fun – they let me both shoot the image and then channel my inner history geek. 🙂

  11. […] is the same house that was featured in my Grasslands post from last week; but photographed on a different visit out to the LBJ National Grasslands […]

Leave a Reply

 
