Printing and other random thoughts

I’m giving some thought as to how I’d like to print my work.  Print myself, or farm it out to someone else??

As far as I can tell, both have some pros and cons.

Myself:
Pros – print on demand, more creative control

Cons – probably can’t afford a totally awesome printer, keeping up with paper/ink/etc.

Farming it out:

Pros – most likely better quality than I can do literally in-house

Cons – I’m at the mercy of whoever I’m having print for me, no printing on demand.

So, for those of you who do this kind of thing, what route do you take, and why?

Question #2.

I picked up this Ansel Adams quote off my Twitter feed:

Not everybody trusts paintings but people believe photographs.

What do you think?? Is this still true in the age of digital manipulation?

~ by Derrick Birdsall on July 12, 2011.

10 Responses to “Printing and other random thoughts”

  1. I ♥ Mpix.com. I use them for my prints and they come out beautifully. I thought of doing it myself, but the expense is beyond me right now.

  2. I was lucky in Missoula. I have a friend there who is equipped for scanning and printing, and knows how to do it well. I could look over his shoulder and say yea or nay while he was working his magic and I could have them done as needed. I’ll continue like that when I go back to Montana, but in the meantime if I decide to sell prints I’ll make them myself like I used to do in the darkroom. I want to see the print with my own eyes and make sure it’s what I want to send out.

    I don’t know about that quote. Adams liked to talk, and once in a while would come up with a profound sounding gem that really meant nothing. I think this is one of those…

  3. As someone who does all their own printing, my advice is to have someone else do it. There is so much else you have to worry about when trying to sell artwork that having this NOT on your plate is a good thing. There’s the investment in equipment, ink, paper and all the frustrations that go along with the actual printing (color accuracy, printer issues, finishing, etc.). Let someone else worry about all that and then you can concentrate on photography.

    As far as the quote goes, I doubt this is true any more. I rarely believe any photograph since there is so much digital manipulation these days.

  4. I only have prints done elsewhere that are too big for my printer. It is expensive and there is a learning process, but I like to make sure it is done exactly how I want it done and the final print has to be exactly right. I would find it very limiting to have to wait for a print to come back, make adjustments, send it out again, and then do it all over again.

    I have a calibrated monitor and what I see onscreen looks like my prints, but there is a big difference between a 900 px wide onscreen image and a 24″ wide print. I like to adjust the prints to my liking.

    So I would say, dive in! The water is deep but it will do your soul good to make your own prints. There is a great video series on Luminous Landscape that will save you a lot of headaches. This is a link to the older version. They are coming out with a new one very soon. http://www.luminous-landscape.com/videos/camera-print.shtml I highly recommend it.

    I would be glad to help you any way that I can.

    Sharon

  5. I just noticed that the new LL series will be out August 8th. Even though I have the old series, I will probably get the new one also.

    Here’s a preview. http://www.luminous-landscape.com/tutorials/camera_to_print__screen___introduction.shtml

    Sharon

Leave a Reply

 
