A little color

I’m in a bit of a retro mood.  The last few posts thinking about the Depression era photos from the Library of Congress reminded me that I had this little gem in the archives.

WAC

While attending a museum conference earlier this Spring, I spotted my friend wearing the uniform of a WWII WAC – you can read all about the Women’s Army Corps here, if you are so inclined.  Kristin was a good sport and I had her work into a classic pose that I remember seeing in images from the war.  A simple edit in Lightroom to adjust the color and viola!

I realize this is a bit of a departure from my usual landscape work, so I hope you’ll indulge me!

~ by Derrick Birdsall on July 15, 2011.

12 Responses to “A little color”

  1. This is wonderful, Mr. B.!
    Retro-fabulous, in fact!
    Very, very cool!
    🙂

  2. Very nice. If you hadn’t explained it I would have thought it was actually from the LoC collection. Good work.

  3. A worthwhile departure indeed. I like the pose: the eyes and expression. Perfectly set up and executed.

  4. it looks natural and authentic… i love popping by here, because there’s so much for me to learn from your work.

  5. Women in uniform is always sexy…ups i mean Hot!

  6. looks natural. WAC HOT in there time!

Leave a Reply

 
