Summer storm

Ahhhhh, the good old days of June when we actually got to see rain….  I took the motorcycle and went out to meet this storm last month.   I must say, chasing the storm around and literally surfing off the front edge of it was rather entertaining.  And at times, rather spectacularly terrifying.

As I threw in the towel and raced home, I came upon this hilltop at about the same time the storm arrived.  Throwing caution to the wind (I don’t recommend to anyone to stand on top of a hill in the middle of a thunderstorm….) I found a good spot and set up for a bit.

The road to....?

it's coming

Heat lightning

 

I tried to not shoot any video into the wind thanks to all the wind noise but I couldn’t resist the action off to the southwest and as a result got a bit of buffeting.  Check out how the lightning is illuminating the little hilltop I was hanging out on….

~ by Derrick Birdsall on July 18, 2011.

16 Responses to “Summer storm”

  1. That video is awesome!! What amazing color. I like all your shots. The heat lightning shot is beautiful.

    Sharon

    • Thank you, Sharon! It was pretty hairy and in retrospect not one of the smarter things I’ve ever done. I really, really wanted to catch some ground to cloud lightning but I figured I’d pushed my luck enough and beat it out of there before the rain came. Riding back on dirt roads to get back home, with the sky on fire and thunder crackling around me was…. entertaining. 😉

  2. Beautiful , Thanks for taking the risk in capturing such amazing photos. The huge white clouds over a yellow horizon is just beyond words.

  3. Wild video! I agree with Sharon re: the heat lightening shot. Can’t beat the colors!

    Hey…how’s the calf?

  4. Wow! The colors and lighting are spectacular. I really enjoyed the video too.

  5. Speechless….the best so far I’ve seen in this week challenge…

  6. Hey Mizz – that’s very nice of you to say – there’s been some really good stuff!

  7. Nice set of shots with the impending storm and the sun sinking.

  8. Amazing. Beautiful! Lovely colours …

  9. Wow! High voltage, Mr. B! I’m just glad that you remained non-conductive!
    🙂

Leave a Reply

 
