Struggle

To me, it looks as if mother nature is doing her best to reach out and cover up the man-made windmill.

all covered up

I’m sure that over time, mother nature is going to win this one….

Caught site of this scene out in the LBJ national grasslands, hunting more Texas landscapes.

~ by Derrick Birdsall on July 25, 2011.

14 Responses to “Struggle”

  1. Beautiful silhouettes.

  2. Thank you Cynthia! I find myself more and more shooting backlit items…

  3. I like old windmills like this. It does look like the land will claim it. I wonder who put it up – there must have been a farm or ranch there. Wonderful photograph, Derrick.

    Sharon

    • If I remember correctly, this windmill was feeding a stock trough – as far as I could tell, there wasn’t a house nearby. Thank you Sharon.

  4. Amazing picture!

  5. Gotta say it — nature will always win in the end. We’d be wise to keep that in mind.

  6. It DOES look like the branches are reaching out to capture the windmill! And yes, I concur with you…Mother Nature is sure to win this one…

  7. I really like this one, Derrick. The sepia tone fits the old windmill look very well and I like how the tree branches seem to be framing it.

  8. As you’ve said, a wonderful contrast / comparison between the built and natural environments, Mr. B… very interesting!

Leave a Reply

 
