Painting with light

Now this image is what I would consider (for me, anyway) “normal” painting with light.  The columns were getting plenty of light on the bottom, but practically no light on the tops.  Some simple trial and error with the flashlight and viola!

reflection

Tripod needed, of course!  Technical details: f/4, 8 second exposure, and iso 100.  That, and the willingness to get my shoes muddy.  To get this shot I had to trample down the side of the lake and then walk on the exposed mud of the bottom of the little lake.  There were some pretty soft spots that got me a bit muddy but it was worth it to get a shot that everyone else missed out on!

~ by Derrick Birdsall on August 18, 2011.

9 Responses to “Painting with light”

  1. Very cool, sir…
    I like the contrast between temperature in the different lighting… NICE!
    On a side note, I ALWAYS manage to get my shoes (and pretty much everything else) muddy every time I take out a camera… it’s ridiculous!

    • All I could think of when walking out there in the mud was my little quicksand experience in Big Bend… .kept waiting to sink up to my knees.

  2. Is it just me or do you also see the ‘faces’ in this image?? The two dark spots at the base of the columns (from the light fixtures) look like pupils. So there is one ‘face’ if you will above the wter line (that actually looks happy) and the reflected ‘face’ below that actually looks mean.

    Oh, and if you aren’t willing to get completely dirty for a photo then, imho, you can’t really call yourself a photographer… 😉

  3. This is pretty sweet, Derrick. I bet the skeeters got you, though. 🙂

    Sharon

  4. I’ve been a little out of the loop lately, but thought I’d toss in that these recent ‘light paintings’ are an interesting departure. I’m curious to see where this experiment takes you.

    • I’m not that sure where all I might use something like this in my usual Texas landscape type stuff. But the experience of learning how to control the light that the camera records was quite valuable…. and you never know!!

Leave a Reply

 
