Busy busy

Phew!

Apologies for light blogging around these parts and all those folks that I usually visit and comment on.  It’s been very, very busy around here.

Spent the weekend shooting a few thousand pictures at a very large championship pistol match in Wichita Falls.

haulin'

On Monday, I was out shooting my first bridal portrait, something I swore I would never do.  A friend of mine talked me into it and I figured at the least I would get some good practice getting the camera to bend to my will….  actually had a good time, however!

Princess

I’ve been actively taking quite a bit of pictures aside from this stuff… so I’ve got plenty of material to wade through and share with ya’ll.  This weekend I’ll get to shoot a bike race and a car show and all of this in preparation for a big motorcycle trip next week to hit all of the Texas Frontier Forts that will be featured in the book…. busy times and I appreciate everyone’s patience and support!!

~ by Derrick Birdsall on September 7, 2011.

14 Responses to “Busy busy”

  1. Nice !

  2. Posting that portrait might have been a mistake, Mr. B – your phone is gonna’ be ringing off the hook with requests when people see your results… Wow!

  3. I agree whole-heartedly with SIG! AMAZING bridal shot! So different than what most do. YOU have struck a new career path! 🙂

  4. Now Derrick, I realize you are sentimental about shooting and all, but hmmmm. I am not so sure about the top image here or its redeeming value. Is there something I don’t know or don’t realize? I do like that he is completely off the ground and the sky is kinda nice… On the other hand, the bottom photo is fantastic. Great idea, wonderful arrangement and excellent camera execution to get the sun burst just right. Very fine. I also particularly like the light fringing effect on her dress.

    • LOL – thanks David! Like you, I’m liking the fact that he’s clearly in motion here…. and the coulds struck me as neat as well. The other chord that it struck with me was that this image was quite unlike the other 2,258 images I took over the weekend!! Just thought it was different. 😉

      And thanks for the kudos on the bridal portrait, that was more or less a spur of the moment deal, I was setting up for something else and viola, couldn’t pass that one up!

  5. Gotta agree with spilledinkguy — your phone is likely to melt from the calls. That is one fine and unique bridal portrait.

  6. You and Dirck have a lot in common in your interests, Derrick. Have fun – sounds like you are in for an interesting and productive trip.

    Sharon

Leave a Reply

 
