Woodson Bridge

I went on a little moto adventure last week, wrapping up some pictures of Fort Belknap and Fort Griffin.  I wanted to get in some Texas dirt roads and after getting the scoop from the great staff at Ft. Griffin, headed home via a nice long county road … all dirt!

A fantastic treat along the way was this old suspension bridge, which crosses the Clear Fork of the Brazos River – on the old road that used to connect Albany to Woodson.  According to Bridgehunter, the bridge was first built in 1896, and modified in 1926!  Helluva piece of work, let me tell you.

Considering my retro-fabulous mood lately, I tuned these images accordingly.  Can you imagine what this bridge was like as it transitioned from horse powered traffic to Model T’s??

Condemed

Overgrown

Shadows and lines

Suspension

 

Real Time

Stepping back to the bike, I thought it fitting that the last shot, instead of being retro-fabulous, show you the bridge through today’s lens….

~ by Derrick Birdsall on October 10, 2011.

11 Responses to “Woodson Bridge”

  1. Especially love the shadows and lines. Very nice. 😉

  2. Love, love the last one Derrick! Very nice!

  3. Great documentary art series of this old bridge.

  4. They just don’t make ’em like that anymore. I like the retro processing…just seems to fit. That last shot is pretty darn cool. 🙂

    I’m off tomorrow for some desperately needed R&R. A few days in the Florida sunshine should do wonders!

  5. Great set, Derrick. I like them all, especially the “rear view”. 🙂

    Sharon

  6. Thank you Sharon, always enjoy your visits here!!

  7. […] home via the back roads and stopped at an old suspension bridge that I’ve featured before, here.  It’s a great spot and still as appealing to me as it was the first time I stopped […]

Leave a Reply

 
