Phantom Hill Light

Last week’s shoot at Fort Phantom Hill was remarkably successful and rewarding for me.  For one thing, I was able to get 3-5 images over the course of a few hours that I think you’ll be seeing again in one form or another.  😉

As I mentioned last week, all of the stars aligned for a fantastic experience.  The light was fantastic and only sharing the fort with the coyote’s call in the distance and the light of the moon was something I’ll not forget anytime soon.

Shortly after the sky lost all remnants of light from the sun, the Comanche moon tucked behind some clouds and it started to get dark like it tends to do out in the country away from the city lights.  I turned my back to the moon and started working a scene for 10-15 minutes – long enough for my eyes to get accustomed to the dark.

All of a sudden, it went from fairly dark to very bright – so bright in fact that my first thought was what dumbass was out in the pasture behind me shining his lights on the fort.  As I started to turn to look, it hit me that the moon had popped back out of the clouds and had illuminated the Texas landscape.   With a chuckle at myself, I got back to work and was able to capture some fantastic shots with only the moonlight lighting up the fort’s ruins.

This shot was taken before all that happened, when there was a hint of color still in the sky. It’s nearly straight out of the camera with the only edit being a dark spot on the front chimney that I must have missed with the flashlight.  A simple clone and viola.

Fading light

Technical details: shot taken with my Canon 7D and 17-40L f/4 lens.   10 seconds, ISO 100, f/4 and wb set to cloudy.

~ by Derrick Birdsall on October 17, 2011.

10 Responses to “Phantom Hill Light”

  1. Wow – amazing shot!

  2. Amazing. the lights and the greys 🙂

  3. Very cool capture.

  4. This is very beautiful, Derrick. I’m on the road for a while but I hope to catch up on your wonderful adventures when I get near a computer.

    Sharon

  5. Wow what a magical photo effects 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
