Sutler store

Out working on the book project and thought I’d share a couple of shots with ya’ll.

First up is a little shot of an experiment I was doing using the little G12 and it’s in-camera HDR.  I’m really not a fan of some of the over the top HDR stuff that’s out there, but I think it might have some potential in really high contrast areas, like the interior of this structure with its shadows and bright light.

process

All that said and done, I really like how this shot turned out as well, taken from the other side of the wall featured in the above photo.

from the front

I’m still not sold on HDR, I think that if you set up right, and do your part, you can easily do without it. 😉

~ by Derrick Birdsall on October 24, 2011.

10 Responses to “Sutler store”

  1. Its pretty cool what those small cameras can do. I think you made a good shot on this one.

    • Thanks Jan! I think a lot of folks get all wrapped up in the “my lens is bigger than your lens syndrome….” The little G12 proves them wrong a lot of the time. 🙂

  2. I agree with you on the ‘over the top’ HDR images out there. This shot is beautiful. You simply brought all the tones, shadows and highlights out and it looks natural and effortless.

    • Thanks Tracy! Both images shared here were taken with the 7D, and pretty much straight out of the camera. All that was done to the bottom picture was hitting one of the b/w preset buttons to take the already b/w image and add a little bit of blue. 🙂 No HDR needed! 🙂

  3. I like it Derrick. Great drama with the clouds.

  4. I like that BW and what you wrote about HDR. Not to sound judgmental, you know I never do, but HDR SUCKS, unless it is done so that I cannot tell it is HDR.

    • Thanks David – I’ve seen a few images here and there that are HDR that the only way I know they are HDR is because I know a “normal” exposure can’t have the balance in highlights and shadows that the image has. I’ve also seen some (the majority) that make me want to vomit.

  5. such a cool result.

Leave a Reply

 
