A little abstract

Playing around with water, reflections, and fall color – I thought I’d do something a little bit (OK, a LOT) different for me and play around with actually trying to create art rather than document a scene like a I usually do.  I’ve been somewhat inspired by Bill Neill’s abstracts that he shares via his Facebook page, like here and here.

Here’s a couple of takes, let me know what you think!

depth

palette

In both images, my goal was to create a sense of movement, depth and color.  I achieved both images with a relatively slow shutter speed of 1/40th and either zooming in or out the focal length on my Canon 17-40L series lens while I pushed the shutter button.  It’s interesting to me that the center of each image is fairly stable while it’s the exterior portion of each image that appears to be in movement.   This was hand held and I think if I set up on a tripod, it would further stabilize the middle of the image…. and I think is worthy of further experimentation.

I don’t know what I’ll do with these images, if anything – but I figure it’s all part of an opportunity to learn to bend light and the camera to my will, and that’s a good thing. 😉

~ by Derrick Birdsall on November 30, 2011.

6 Responses to “A little abstract”

  1. Amazing photos, man. Long exposures might make for a variety of interesting options too.

  2. I’d say your experiment produced some very successful results, Mr. B…
    very cool!

  3. Cool. They’re different from, but call to mind Ernst Haas’s work in ‘The Creation’. Well worth the experiment, and I hope we see more as you work with it.

Leave a Reply

 
