Light and shadow

Continuing to drive through a fantastic back country road in New Mexico, I had to get out and capture this scene.  The light and shadows playing along this small arroyo caught my eye.

light and not

There’s a bit of mystery here to me…. what’s around the corner???  What’s hiding in the shadow and what’s the light showing us in the background??  Regardless, had to stop and grab this shot, hope you enjoy it to!

 

~ by Derrick Birdsall on December 14, 2011.

10 Responses to “Light and shadow”

  1. Beautiful tones.

  2. I’m liking these recent B/W things you’re doing. Good stuff.

  3. Great black and white treatment – excellent shot!

  4. Oh, man…
    you just keep these epic, perfectly captured vistas coming, don’t you, Mr. B!
    Spectacular!

  5. Wonderful mystery and a very nice black and white treatment, Derrick. I am really enjoying your New Mexico series – a look at the less commonly seen scenery (my grammar is lacking I think :-))

    Sharon

  6. Thanks Sharon! I think the cool icons are cool…. but that sure does limit what you can take pictures of! Part of the area we traveled through was thought scenic enough to star in Lonesome Dove, I believe. 😉 Pretty stuff to see everywhere you look.

Leave a Reply

 
