Big Sky Country

Among many other reasons I love visiting Big Bend Country is that it is truly big sky country. I was lucky enough to visit two times this year, the 2nd coming a few weeks ago.

Big Sky Country

Snapped this image on 385, not far from the Sierra Madera Astrobleme.

Hope everyone is in the mood for some more Big Bend stuff…. because there’s a lot on the way!!

Also, this is my first post on my new Apple iMac. ย After a few decades of PC’s…. I hope I’ve figured everything out enough to have this look right!! ย I will also note that this was one of the first images I took with my new point and shoot camera – the plucky little Olympus TG-610, which I picked up largely to carry with me on my moto-adventures as it is water and shock proof.

~ by Derrick Birdsall on December 28, 2011.

29 Responses to “Big Sky Country”

  1. Sweet glow (and that lone, isolated post is the icing on the landscape cake)!
    Waterproof, too, you say? NICE!

  2. they say it’s good down to 16 feet. We’ll see if it’s drop proof or not soon enough I’m sure. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Amazing ๐Ÿ˜‰

  4. Beautiful!

  5. Just discovered your blog, after you visiting mine. I am a big fan of the Big Bend and go there 2-3 times a year. My next visit is the last weekend of February. I will subscribe to your blog, as I want to see some more of your Big Bend work. I live in San Angelo, and I see that you are a Texan yourself.

  6. P.S. I love your Big Sky Country photo. ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. Love the photo Derrick. The simplicity and abstraction are very striking.
    Good stuff. What do you think of that Olympus? I’m an Olympus guy myself and I’m curious how you like it.

    • Thanks PJ! The Olympus so far has been a mixed bag. It has some features that I absolutely love – for example, you can lock in an exposure and then re-compose without changing the exposure. Which is completely IMPOSSIBLE to do on my Canon G12 and it drives me nuts. Also, it has a “magic” setting that mimics a pinhole camera and I used it quite a bit in Big Bend, got some neat shots with that feature.

      The battery life does not impress me – they told me (the Olympus rep) that I would get 200-300 images per charge. It’s been closer to about 75-100 per charge so far. Also, I had a repeating disc error with the new SD card I purchased with the camera. Swapped out SD cards with one I already had (and knew that it worked) and so far have not had that issue.

      Time will tell, but it has a spot in my motorcycle jacket for the time being.

  8. I love this shot, Derrick. The light, colors, and perspective are wonderful.

  9. Really wonderful, Derrick. A great study of negative space!

  10. Derrick,
    I came across your blog after you “liked” a picture on mine (thank you : ) Your pictures are really fantastic and I very much enjoy reading your blog. The pictures you post of the places you have traveled too make me want to pack up my car and family and go cross country! Thanks have inspiring and having such a fun blog to read.
    Cheers!

  11. I love these sky style photo’s, lovely take, ๐Ÿ™‚ http://wp.me/p1j16x-3p

  12. That’s really different. I like it.

    Feel free to visit me at f-stop fantasy:
    ( https://fstopfantasy.wordpress.com/ )

  13. Awesome! What beautiful colors! I love it!

  14. Here’s my entry…http://wp.me/pPyQY-ww

  15. Very simple but very cool!

  16. stunning. gorgeous colors. you’ve done it again!

  17. Simple excellence! You got it all right, kudos ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

 
