Light

Decisions, decisions…. I’ve already asked ya’ll in the recent past which image you liked better – a b/w or a color version.  Well, I’m gonna put ya’ll to the test again!!!

I think both of these images stand on their own, really – and if shown as a single image would be just fine.  However, sitting here in the “darkroom”, I CAN compare the two…. and I’m torn again.

So…. without further ado, what do you think? Which do you prefer?

color

b/w

 

These are obviously both of a nearly identical composition.  I wish in the color version that I had included the peaks off to the left, but that’s the way the ball bounces sometimes.  I do like the addition of people into the color version, if for nothing else, scale.  But I also like the lack of the same humans in the b/w version.

So, if you had to choose, which one would it be and why!?

~ by Derrick Birdsall on January 31, 2012.

22 Responses to “Light”

  1. I think I prefer the color here, with the rocks golden from the sun and the clouds contrasting with the blue sky.

  2. I love the sky in the black and white. But I think the color version is slightly better.

  3. Ooh. This was a tough one. At first I liked the black and white, but after viewing them several times I concur with the previous bloggers. I like the sky in the black and white, but I really like the almost robin’s egg blue against the red rocks. I do have one suggestion. Have you tried seeing how the picture would look if you lightened the exposure just a little. I would be curious to see this picture against one with more exposure, but that’s just me. Otherwise, a great picture. Your photos are always a nice contrast to the cold weather we have here in the Northeast. brrr…

    • Thank you Nareen – I appreciate your feedback!! Which image are you talking about (color or b/w?) On my screen (new iMac), if I open up the exposure any more on either of them, it looks too washed out. I need to calibrate this screen, but it’s pretty dang close to my final printed image…. does it look too dark on your screen??

  4. Cool image.

  5. I love both, but the color version is what sticks with me. You captured the colors in the sky and rock I wish I could see every day. Great job!

  6. The both fab – but when compare them I think I have to go with the color one, there more depth in it. FAB!!!

  7. Both are great. Why does it have to be an either/or??

  8. I always have a heck of a time with a choice like this, Mr. B… once again both pieces are outstanding.
    I do really like your color, that warm light is extraordinary! If I had to choose, I think I might go with the B/W, though. Not sure if I can explain why… I think (for me), it’s because I get so lost in the wonderful quality of the light in the first I tend to lose track of all the great details. It seems like they take-on more of a lead role in the second… it’s got a classic elegance to it. Wow… that was a very long-winded way of saying I think both are great photographs, Mr. B!
    🙂

  9. amazing picture…I love both… you’re skillful “light shooter”..

  10. I love the contrast in the color…and the dimension shown in the foreground of the black and white…I give a slight edge to the color…they’re both wonderful. Thanks!

  11. I like your photos (not only these, but several others in your blog), they are technically good – not like a lot of the amateur “point & click” crap you see around on so many blogs.

Leave a Reply

 
