The Shaman’s cave

After the last time I was at the Shaman’s cave, I was thinking about a shot I could get by doing some light painting inside the cave.  After thinking about it for a while, I figured out how I could get the effect that I wanted by using a simple lantern placed inside the cave, behind the small rock wall that sits at the cave’s mouth.

I’m rather pleased with how this turned out, practically no work done to this in post, just a crop and some noise reduction.

The shaman lives here

It’s very easy for me to imagine a small fire inside the cave, keeping the shaman warm, and reflecting light and heat on the walls of the cave.

 

~ by Derrick Birdsall on February 2, 2012.

16 Responses to “The Shaman’s cave”

  1. Wow. Beautiful! Love that jewel tone blue and red. That’s it. Your awesome photos have convinced me to put Big Bend on my Bucket List.
    BTW did you notice that to the left of the picture it appears as if there is a figure dancing?

  2. Thanks! I’m not seeing the figure dancing… are you talking about the clouds, or in the rock face somewhere? One thing you can see with this light vs. during the day are what I’m calling the “golden arches”, because it looks like the “M” on a McDonald’s sign… but I’m not seeing a figure!

  3. Really you don’t see a figure? It immediately jumped out at me when I first viewed it. It looked to me like the head of a coyote or a jack rabbit (but the coyote is upright and dancing) and he’s looking towards the right of the picture. Oh boy in print I sound like a crazy lady… I can assure I’m quite normal. You know what? On 2nd thought I don’t see anything at all… : )

    • LOL! I’m still not seeing what you’re talking too… probably as a result of me having been there and knowing there wasn’t a critter in sight not counting me and the lads. A lot of times in looking at other images my imagination sees things but in this case I think knowing that there wasn’t something there is creeping into my subconscious. 😉 I even did a quick edit, blowing up all the fill light and can’t see anything.

      Quite all right, if this image stimulated some conversation then my work here is done! 🙂 🙂

  4. What a magical moment!

  5. Very good. Great job conveying the sense of the mystery of the shaman.

    For what it’s worth, I see the coyote too. Maybe there’s something in the coffee I’m drinking…

  6. Me too, I see it in the wisp of clouds… nicely done, Derrick.

    Sharon

  7. VERY cool!! I actually employed a similar technique to make it appear that a fire was burning in a fireplace for a holiday portrait shoot. Amazing how the camera catches light, isn’t it?

  8. I love this one, Derrick! It’s magical and mysterious and beautiful. 🙂

  9. Wow!
    That’s one magic lantern
    (and shot, Mr. B.)!
    🙂

Leave a Reply

 
