Suiting up

Anyone who’s ever ridden a motorcycle knows that you don’t just hop on the bike and ride. Β I’m a firm believer in what’s called ATGATT – All The Gear, All The Time – so there’s helmet, gloves, jacket, pants, glasses, etc that all gets to go on before I kick a leg over the bike.

So there I was, suiting up as per my usual ritual when I glanced up and caught sight of this image and just had to grab the camera and catch it.

The curves and soft texture of the sky contrasted so nicely with the trail and rough texture of the ridge that I couldn’t pass it up.

Textures

~ by Derrick Birdsall on February 14, 2012.

31 Responses to “Suiting up”

  1. awesome!

  2. very majestic!

  3. This is really wonderful, Derrick. The way the foreground seems to be one piece with the sky – I like this one a great deal.

    Sharon

  4. That is the upside to taking time to do things – including looking around you as you do up the last buckle or snap!

  5. Wow – that is some AWESOME sky, Derrick! The toning is very nice here, too. πŸ™‚

  6. It looks like the wingspan of a bird from behind. Beautiful contrast!

  7. Beauty!!!!

  8. Great entry my friend πŸ™‚

  9. awesome photograph. brilliant.

  10. How cool is that! Thanks for sharing! πŸ™‚

  11. I really like the near symmetry in both sides of the ‘landscape’ here, too, Mr. B… another awesome shot!
    πŸ™‚

  12. don’t look at the sky if you are driving a motorbike!
    greetings by
    http://flickrcomments.wordpress.com/2012/02/10/weekly-photo-challenge-regret/

  13. Wow, I would want to capture that scene in a photograph also! The sky is amazing.

  14. Wonderful. I wouldn’t have been able to pass it up either. πŸ™‚

    I know all about suiting up. I didn’t one day and have a nice long scar on my right leg to show for it. In my defense, I was young (teenager) and stupid. And now I have a story to tell on those occasions when I need a story to tell.

  15. Surreal and lovely. sumptuous. Ride well.

  16. beautiful sky, i’d love to ride in big bend (the national or state park, or both) one of these days. I was there last summer in a car and the car just about died forever going up into the chisos – ended up having to get it towed to alpine

Leave a Reply

 
