Photo tip Friday

Way back when… prior to me getting sick with the black plague (or at least so it seems!), I planned on making a regular Friday post on tips I’ve picked up.  This Friday’s tip is so obvious, but one that from what I understand, most folks completely ignore.

So, this week’s tip is: RTFM.

RTFM

Yep…. read the *ahem* manual.  Today’s cameras are essentially mini computers.  Working through the menus and optimizing the camera for you and your style of shooting is important if you want to get the most out of your new gizmo.  I’m an incredibly impatient person when it comes to my toys and it’s very hard for me to do…. but if I can set aside time to read the manual, so can you!  I can promise you that it will improve your photography if you haven’t bothered to read it.

~ by Derrick Birdsall on March 23, 2012.

14 Responses to “Photo tip Friday”

  1. Oy . . . That is so hard for me. BUT, everytime I take the time to read parts of it, I am amazed by what my camera can do. Thanks for the advice, and I will make the effort to trudge through the thing. After all, I do want to improve my photography.

  2. I stare at it. It reminds me of that Algebra class text book. I did poorly in Algebra…something about that side of my brain. I promise I will try.

  3. You’re right — it seems like an obvious step, but one that many people ignore. I say that from personal experience… guess I’d better see if I can dig out my manual and see what it has to say…

  4. I always read mine and I actually carry my manual in my camera bag. Sometimes I need to reference it in the field and it can be hard to read the copy I keep in my Evernote iphone app when there is a lot of glare.

    For some reason, I’m having trouble posting here. I had to sign into my wordpress.com account or it wouldn’t let me post with my normal email. I tried to post from my phone the other day and had difficulties. I wonder if wordpress has changed something.

    Sharon

    • I’m with you – I carry the manual in my pack when I’m out and about.

      You are not the only one! I had a hard time, David had a hard time, and I couldn’t get on via my cell phone. Something strange is afoot and I need to take the time to contact WP and see what’s up. Glad you were able to get in!

  5. Ha! This is what I tell my students all the time. Nice to have us pros be reminded as well… 🙂

    • Do as I say…. 😉 From what little experience I have garnered in all of my various activities, we tend to overcomplicate things and ignore the simple solutions. Photography included. 🙂

  6. First time stopping in.

    Your tip about reading the manual is critical, especially in the world of the digital camera. And yes, the size of a manual and technical jargon can scare one away. My suggestion to folks is to only take a 1 or 2 topics at a time and then go out and practice them.

  7. Ok…I confess I am very impatient when it comes to using creative stuff. I once took my manual with me on a trip to Canada…got to page 20.

  8. Sounds like great advice to me, Mr. B!
    That’s sure a nice looking gizmo on the cover of that book, too!
    🙂

Leave a Reply

 
