Ripples

Back a couple of months ago, I headed down to the Sam Houston National Forest , hunting for images to take for a contest hosted by the Texas Forest Trail Region. The Forest Trail is one of ten such cultural and heritage trails throughout Texas and I think the trail system is one of the things that Texas gets right….  Anyway, as I went to college way back when nearby, I figured I’d visit my old stomping grounds in the piney woods where I spent many a day hunting, hiking, camping and bike riding.

The difference today could be found with the advent of gps and the ability to scout out potential locations in advance.  I used a gps overlay, matched my knowledge and memories from 20ish years ago and went hunting for cool places to take pictures of.

Something about making ripples in an otherwise smooth as glass pond that caught my eye.

ripples across the pond

~ by Derrick Birdsall on April 2, 2012.

20 Responses to “Ripples”

  1. Monet would drool, Mr. B!
    🙂

  2. Awesomeness!!! Wow Derrick! I would love to see it flipped as well.

  3. Oh fine. I will just turn my computer screen upside down and enjoy it myself 🙂

  4. Very cool shot, Derrick. 🙂

    Sharon

  5. That’s a cool look to the photo!

  6. I’ve got a soft spot for abstracts and reflections done at ponds. Love this one. Great arrangement.

  7. You’ve got to post your winning pic Derrick!

  8. Yep, very cool ripples. 🙂

    One teeny-tiny crit…with so much strong verticals going on, I find the upper left-hand corner to be a little distracting. If it were me, I’d either clone out those two angled branches or crop to eliminate them. JMHO, of course. 😉

    • You can dish out all the constructive criticism around here you want, miss! 🙂 I see what you’re saying…. I don’t think LR can clone those out, and if I crop it I lose a good portion of other stuff I want, too!

      Let me see if I can figure how to do that with the main image file because I believe you are right!

  9. Derrick,
    love the action the ripples give the photo. I have to ask, did you take a photo with out the ripples as well?

    peace,

    Stephen

  10. love the photo..

Leave a Reply

 
