The Stand

Well, my routine around here lately has been to post a coupla images a week and I’m going to see how long I can go with the tips on Friday before I run out of useful things to talk about….

That being said, I have a decent backlog of images to start working through and as a result, you get to see more stuff. 😉

Again, while out shooting for the Texas Forest Trail photo contest, the light broke through the clouds behind me, perfectly illuminating this stand of trees in the distance.  Luckily for me I had the long lens with me and was able to get in close enough for what I was seeing.  Also, unlike probably most other photographers nowadays who shoot everything in color and then edit in the b/w in post, I will actually see an image in my head in b/w and just shoot it that way in camera – which is what I did here.  I fiddled with it dodging and burning in LR until it looked like I had visualized.

Enough blathering about, here you go!

the stand

 

 

~ by Derrick Birdsall on April 3, 2012.

10 Responses to “The Stand”

  1. It’s a beauty. Well envisioned and executed. I like the contrast of dark on light repeated.

  2. Lovely! Looking forward to “seeing more stuff” in the future!

  3. Nice! It really works in B&W.

    (P.S. Saw the tornadoes in TX…I hope they weren’t where you are…)

    • thanks!! I did take a frame or two in color and it was just flat. The b/w really makes it pop to me!

      The storms were all around us, but they didn’t want to have anything to do with me. 😉 After all, I had a camera and I was out waiting for something cool to happen. Had I NOT had a camera, I’m sure something really impressive would have flown over work.

  4. It sure stands tall, Mr. B!
    🙂

  5. Very well done!

  6. What a fantastic photo! So beautiful, thanks for sharing

Leave a Reply

 
