Photo tip Friday!

Continuing my trend of simple things you can do to improve your photography…. here’s a no brainer that still manages to catch me from time to time.

Charge your batteries and before you head out, verify that you did indeed remember to charge everything up the last time you got back.  There’s been a handful of times over the last few months that batteries that I thought I’d charged were in fact… not.  Luckily it didn’t cost me and I wasn’t all that far from home.  But imagine you’re out on a shoot somewhere and your batteries run down…. you go to put in your extra battery and …. nothing happens.

To ensure that you don’t run dry in the field, you can pick up an inverter that you can plug into your car’s outlet and charge your batteries up – I’ve used one with great success on week long trips with lots of taking pictures in between.

You may have noticed (as I mentioned above) that these tips are fairly simplistic, basic even!  But I’ll remind you that a master is just someone who does the basics better than anyone else.

Carry on!

~ by Derrick Birdsall on April 20, 2012.

16 Responses to “Photo tip Friday!”

  1. Hey Derrick- it may seem simplistic, but every once in a while I get lazy about checking and get caught. Brought my new little Canon S100 point and shoot to a party tonight and boom, battery dead…got the group shot before it died!

  2. I learned this lesson the hard way and am now very good at re-charging the battery. Which I have at times forgotten to put back in the camera before leaving home . . .

  3. So true, Derrick. I have done that before. 🙂

    Sharon

  4. Excellent work my friend 🙂

  5. Ha! We’ve all been there. I now always try to carry a charged backup battery!

  6. Simple, but good tip. I’ve been caught once or twice without extra, charged batteries when I really needed them.

  7. Yes, VERY important!

Leave a Reply

 
