Painting the store

Here’s a shot of the sutler’s store at Ft. Griffin – also taken during the workshop with Wyman Meinzer over the weekend.  This was a hopping place, keeping very busy during the big buffalo hunts in the 1870s.  Not far from this store, Wyatt Earp and Doc Holiday are reported to have begun their friendship!  It’s a special place and always a treat to take pictures there.  Ft. Griffin is only 3ish hours away from home, and a great motorcycle ride out into the country.

Sutler's store

While the internet is rife with folks reporting issues with light leakage on their 5D Mark IIIs…. my new MkIII has performed flawlessly.  But then again, I’m using mine as it was intended and not doing something silly like placing the cover over the lens mount and then pressing the light button on the top of the camera’s viewing screen.  I think it’s becoming par for the course for anyone with an opinion to instantly become an expert online…  all I can say is that I’ve taken nearly 3000 images with my MkIII since I bought it a few weeks ago with nary a problem; and at least three of those shoots (encompassing several hundred images) has been in very, very dark conditions and as you can see above…. no problems.  But that’s just me and I am anything but a pixel peeper.

~ by Derrick Birdsall on April 24, 2012.

10 Responses to “Painting the store”

  1. The building looks like it is glowing. For some reason, when I saw this image, my first thought was “Cool” but then I thought, “Hmmm, it needs a shadow of something on the building or perhaps a figure in shadow ….like a ghostly Wyatt Earp”. Does the workshop ever play with stuff like that?

  2. He’s got two shots… one for each of ya.
    *in my best Val Kilmer / Doc Holiday*
    🙂

  3. Really nice shot : )

  4. Love that glow in the dark!

  5. Haunting and beautiful. The brick appears to be light from within.

Leave a Reply

 
