Camp at Caprock

For you folks that don’t bother getting out – doors and off the couch… here’s what you’re missin’ at bedtime:

under the stars

I have to say I’m very impressed with the low light ability of the new camera!!  I put a glow stick inside my tent, if I were to do this again I would use two… one on each end.  Technical details – 13 second exposure, 2.8/f, 4000 ISO.  I was really more or less experimenting with the high ISO ability of the camera – I hope your monitor is calibrated well enough to see all the stars!!!  Shot taken at Caprock Canyon State Park.

~ by Derrick Birdsall on May 17, 2012.

16 Responses to “Camp at Caprock”

  1. I missed thay you got a new camera. Which is? Shooting ISO 4000! Image looks better when clicked on and enlarged. May have liked to see the surround area with a little more brightness. Thanks for sharing.

  2. That’s wild, Mr. B!
    🙂

  3. I will be camping here in june and hope to see some sky like that!

  4. The aliens have landed!!! 😀

    Cool shot!

  5. S-weet!!! Mr. B. Nicely done. nice camera. awesome photographer : )

  6. Wow, the stars in that sky, like gorgeous fairy dust!

  7. that is a totally awesome shot….the bright green stands out so sharply in the darkness of the night….lovely!!

  8. Derrick,
    I received your print in the mail and boy it’s just how I thought it would look . Excellent print! The royal blue of the sky mixed in with the wisps of yellow and orange of the sun is just exquisite. You know I never asked where this photo was taken and whether you took it at dusk? It would be great to know the story : ) but again thank you! I can’t wait to mat and frame it.

    Oh my husband also really thought it was a great photograph and print which totally made up for the “What -the -heck- did -you -buy -through- the- mail?” look he gave me just before opening it ; )

Leave a Reply

 
