Caprock calf

The official Texas State Bison herd lives at Caprock Canyon State Park.   I can’t begin to tell you how thrilled I was to be able to get close and see, hear and smell these fantastic creatures – quite literally a remnant of our not too distant path.

In the late 19th century, the great southern “buffalo” hunts came very close to exterminating the bison in Texas.  Rancher Charles Goodnight’s wife, so the story goes, felt badly that the bison were close to extermination and the Goodnights saved a small group of bison on their ranch.  Over time, those animals bred with cattle to create “beefalo”.  In the 1990s, 32 animals that had tested to be “pure” buffalo (DNA wise) were brought into Caprock Canyon State Park to establish the state herd.  Today, about 15 years later, there are approximately 90 head of Southern Plains bison; with 8 new calfs this year (as of when I was there!).

These remaining animals are a tangible glimpse of our state’s past and as I said before, it was really a treat to be able to hear them grunt as they went about their business!

proud momma

All that being said, it was very frustrating for me to get back home and discover that of the 400-ish images I took of the bison, only about 20 or so were actually in focus.  😦  It seems that my trusty 7D (which has taken tens of thousands of images over the last year and a half or so) went a bit haywire and was not focusing properly.  The images looked fine on the view screen, but when looked at on the computer, the vast majority were not just “soft” but nearly completely out of focus.  As it was repeatable at home, and my battery charge reading went haywire as well it was time to send the 7D back to Canon.  😦 😦

~ by Derrick Birdsall on May 23, 2012.

9 Responses to “Caprock calf”

  1. Nice!

  2. They’re pretty tiny when you get up that close to them, aren’t they?! 😉
    Sorry to hear about the Camera problems, Mr. B…
    I hope they can get everything fixed up as quickly and painlessly as possible!
    🙂

  3. Should that be “calf”?

    I’ve been there, Derrick. You take a bunch of images thinking you MUST have gold and then realize (a) none are in focus or (b) some other “thing” has ruined your shots (errant branch, some strange backgroud bokeh, etc.). You still had the experience of seeing the babies with their parents however, and no one can take that away from you!

    • well crap! You are so right, that’s what I get for typing when I’m tired. 😉 thanks Tracy! I’m going to be sending you my posts to edit for me first!! LOL.

  4. Hey it’s me and Henry (just kidding). Great post Derrick. Very interesting read. All it takes is one person to care, like Goodnight’s wife, to make a positive impact in this world. We can all take a page out of her book. That must have been awesome to see bison so close-up and personal. So sorry about your camera. I’ve been there and it’s frustrating to say the least but all was not lost with this wonderful picture : )
    I take it you must want to shoot the wonderful free roaming Mustangs one day…

Leave a Reply

 
