68 years ago today…

Bombers like this B-17G were flying across the English Channel and participating in the attack on “fortress Europe” as part of the D-Day invasion.  I thought I’d do a little tribute post to the men of the 8th Air Force and the sacrifices they made during the war to free the world from Nazi Germany.

The 9 oh 9

I liked how the clouds were moving in above this old warbird – for some reason, I recall looking at pictures from WWII as a kid and there were always clouds over England and the bomber formations moving with lots of contrails….  for whatever reason, this view seemed pleasing to my eye and brought back memories of reading all those books many moons ago.  I edited this image in Pixlr-o-matic to ‘age’ it a little bit and there you go!

~ by Derrick Birdsall on June 6, 2012.

4 Responses to “68 years ago today…”

  1. I bet you knew I was gonna love this one!
    🙂

  2. Neat!

Leave a Reply

 
