Texas twister

Cruising north from Presidio to Ft. Davis, my pals and I were running in and out of storm clouds and blue sky.  A front was moving through west Texas and we were front and center.  As a result of all that turbulent air, a series of dust devils started forming off to our west….  I kept my eye on them for that perfect combination of light and composition and viola, my observations paid off in a big way.

I slammed the brakes on the truck, grabbed the 5D3 and ran across the road to get the shot I wanted.

dust devil, Texas style

 

~ by Derrick Birdsall on July 3, 2012.

24 Responses to “Texas twister”

  1. Hey, I remember that! Great shot, pal!

  2. Wow. Fantastic!

  3. Mr. B. I looooove this photograph. What a magnificent shot! Talk about being at the right place at the right time. I hope your buddies had their seat belts on bc. I could just imagine the car coming to a screeching halt as you slammed on the breaks LOL.

  4. Oh my goodness you must have some fun out there, this is fantastic!

  5. Aaaaah – MAZ – ing! Your ability to “see” a great composition and then to actually get the shot is unmatched!

  6. Wow. That is one hell of a shot Derrick.

  7. An awesome shot, Derrick. I’ve always wanted to be in a position to get a shot of a great dust devil.

    • Bob mother nature was just tempting me to take that picture. there were several of those twisters that were lining up and I was just lucky enough to get this one!

  8. Great piece of work Derrick. The light and the arrangement are very dramatic. Did you add the vignetting, or was that the way the light fell? Either way, it worked beautifully.

  9. Absolute magic, Mr. B…
    your sight is truly like no other!

  10. Wow, what great sky and light and lines on the ground, all converging to make a great composition. You hit the brakes at the right moment and place.

  11. Fabulous…….(Phillipa)

  12. Wow! Pretty awesome shot, Derrick. 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
