Photo tip Friday

It’s been awhile since my last tip…. but that’s only because I didn’t want to make stuff up to keep it interesting! LOL.  I’ve got a doozy of a tip for you today, and it’s in line with my previous, common sense tips.

MAKE SURE YOUR CAMERA BAG IS ALWAYS ZIPPED UP BEFORE YOU PICK IT UP!

Otherwise, you will be left feeling like you’re the dumbest person in the world… .just like me earlier this week.

carnage

I’m fairly confident that you’re not supposed to be able to see the interior of your lens!

At the end of a long day on the bike, I grabbed my camera bag, slung it over my shoulder and was rewarded with the sound of my 5dMkIII hitting the garage floor.  I wasn’t even sure I wanted to turn around but when I did, my 17-40L series lens was no longer attached to the camera and had sheared off completely.  The body itself appeared to be OK, but upon trying to take some precise shots, it wasn’t focusing properly.  Both the body and the lens are off with CPS right now and hopefully this is not going to cost me an arm and a leg to fix.

So, don’t let this happen to you, my friends and learn from my mistake!

~ by Derrick Birdsall on July 27, 2012.

13 Responses to “Photo tip Friday”

  1. Man… that sucks. Hope it comes back good as new, and you get to keep your arm and leg.

  2. Ouch! Yeah, that’s a good tip, Derrick. I’ve dropped a few lenses in my day and (luckily), they survived my stupidity. How easy it is to get carelenss, huh?

    I hope your lens is repaired inexpensively and returns to you soon. 🙂

  3. OMG….I understand how it feels to let a silly mistake get so costly on the pockets!! Will surely remember this tip and hope you get your lens back in proper shape soon!!

  4. Oh boy. I hurt just reading your post and looking at the picture of your lens : ( Nails against the chalkboard moment. Did you hyperventilate?! I triple checked my bag this morning…

  5. OH NO…that really sucks!

  6. Oh, no! That hurts just looking at it. Great advice, but a hard way to learn that lesson.

  7. GOOOOOOOOO!
    😦

Leave a Reply

 
