Still standing

This grand old tree has seen better days, for sure…. but it’s still standing tall before all the world can throw at it.

still standing

I was racing home yesterday, with the wind at my back and a storm howling behind me.  I’ve probably ridden by this old fella any number of times but for some reason the tree caught my eye.

I wheeled off the road, pulled out my little G12 and snapped away, working the scene.  None of the other perspectives seemed to work and I did something that I rarely ever do… put the object in the center of the frame… and it worked. 😉  Great little episode, with thunder and lighting my constant companions during the 10 minutes or so I was figuring things out.  Once done, I threw all my gear back on and rode like the wind all the way home; making it safely back into the garage a few minutes before the rains started.

~ by Derrick Birdsall on August 20, 2012.

23 Responses to “Still standing”

  1. Absolutely beautiful shot! And you’re right the tree in this instance works best in the center.

  2. I love this shot, Derrick.

  3. Hey… when in Rome (and it works as well as it does here)…
    🙂

  4. I agree with your focus. Wonderful photo!

  5. Love! I’d hang this in my house!

  6. Gorgeous shot, Derrick. From the looks of it, that tree has a lot of character. 🙂

  7. Nicely done and with a dramatic weather story during the capture to boot! 🙂

  8. That tree might be old but what a fabulous diva! (Good to hear about the rain!)

  9. looks more like a painting ….. it would make an excellent wallpaper even though the subject is right in between!!

  10. Ok! This is your better shot, I think! Simply amazing!

Leave a Reply

 
